Cookies on the Netball World Cup Liverpool 2019 Website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the NWC2019 website.
13 September 2018 | Uncategorized

Everything you need to know for the Competition Draw

Everything you need to know about the competition draw event

With just 10 months to go until the Netball World Cup gets underway in Liverpool, it’s almost time to find out who will be taking on who in the first phase of the competition.

The competition draw for Preliminaries Stage One of the Netball World Cup 2019 will take place this Saturday, 15 September, during England Netball’s annual volunteer recognition evening, the Vitality Goalden Globe Awards.

How the draw works

As the top eight ranked teams in the world; Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, England, Northern Ireland, Malawi, South Africa and Uganda have already been seeded into four groups as per the International Netball Federation’s annual rankings from July 2018.

The competition draw will see the remaining eight qualified teams placed into groups for the first phase of the 16-team tournament (Preliminaries Stage One).

One team from the 9th-12th seeds – Scotland (9th), Trinidad and Tobago (10th), Barbados (11th) and Zimbabwe (12th) will be drawn into each group.

Then one team from the 13th-16th seeds – Fiji (13th), Samoa (14th), Singapore (15th) and Sri Lanka (16th) – will be drawn into each group to complete the match-ups for the opening games of the World Cup.

How to follow the draw

The competition draw will take place from 8:30pm (UK time) on Saturday 15 September.

Live updates from the competition draw will be available through our Twitter feed and Instagram story, so you can stay up to date with the latest draw news as it happens.

Qualified teams

Teams being drawn at the event on Saturday, secured their places at next year’s world cup through qualifier events held in each of the five INF netball regions; Europe, Oceania, Africa, Americas and Asia.

Competition format

In February the International Netball Federation announced a new format for the World Cup, which will see teams compete in three stages: the Preliminaries Stage One from 12-14 July, the Preliminaries Stage Two from 15-18 July and the Play-offs and Placings matches from 19 -21 July.

More information about the competition format can be found here.

Competition schedule update

Following confirmation of the competition draw, the full competition schedule for Preliminaries Stage One will be finalised, before tickets for the event go on sale at 10am on Wednesday 19 September.