Cookies on the Netball World Cup Liverpool 2019 Website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the NWC2019 website.

Competition Format

The world’s best 16 teams went head-to-head for netball’s ultimate prize from 12 to 21 July 2019.

The International Netball Federation developed a new World Cup competition format for 2019, which saw  teams compete in three stages of the tournament: the Preliminaries Stage One from 12-14 July, the Preliminaries Stage Two from 15-18 July and the Play-offs and Placings matches from 19-21 July.

The competition schedule for the Preliminaries Stage One is available here. Preliminaries: Stage Two matches were dependent on Preliminaries: Stage One results.


Preliminaries Stage One (12-14 July)

Teams will compete in four round-robin groups (A, B, C and D) which each consists of four teams.

Teams were assigned to their preliminary groups by seeding based on their world rankings. The top eight teams were pre-assigned to groups, with one team from the 9th-12th seeds and one from the 13th-16th seeds drawn randomly into each group. More information on the competition draw can be found here.

The top three finishers in each group then progressed to the Preliminaries: Stage Two to compete for the title.

More information about the qualification process for the Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 and world rankings can be found here.

Preliminaries Stage Two (15-18 July)

In the second stage of the competition, the top three teams from groups A and B formed group F, and the top three teams from groups C and D formed group G. The bottom four finishers from groups A-D competed for 13th-16th places in group E.

Where teams in groups F and G have already played each other in the Preliminaries Stage One (i.e. A1 has already played A2 and A3), these results were carry through to the Preliminaries Stage Two.

Play-offs and Placings (19-21 July)

Groups F and G

The teams finishing first and second in groups F and G went through to the semi-finals, with the top placed team in each group facing the second placed team in the other group. The winners of each semi-final competed for gold in the final, with the losers playing for bronze.

The teams finishing third and fourth in groups F and G competed for final positions fifth to eighth – third in one group plays fourth in the other – with the winners playing off for fifth place and the losers for seventh.

The teams that finished fifth in groups F and G playedd off for ninth and 10th places.

The teams that finished last in groups F and G played off for 11th and 12th places.

Group E

The top two teams from group E played off for 13th and 14th place and the bottom two teams played off for 15th and 16th place.

Our Partners

Find out more about our partners that proudly support the Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 in Liverpool.