Cookies on the Netball World Cup Liverpool 2019 Website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the NWC2019 website.

Liverpool will complete the hat-trick for England in terms of Netball World Cups, following the tournaments hosted in Eastbourne, 1963 and Birmingham, 1995.

On both previous occasions in which the competition was hosted by England, it was the Australian Diamonds who came out on top and the reigning World Champions will be hoping to complete a hat-trick of their own in 2019.

Netball history was made in 1963 as the seaside town of Eastbourne welcomed the world for the first ever World Netball Championships, as it was then known.  Eleven teams took to the court for the tournament, compared to the 16 who will arrive in the north west for the 2019 edition.

From then on the championships were held every four years and travelled around the globe, taking in the Caribbean, Oceania, Singapore and Scotland before returning to England 32 years later.

On this occasion an incredible 27 teams were pitted against each other at the National Indoor Arena, Birmingham as the Australian Netball Diamonds secured a seventh triumph, defeating a South Africa side who had only recently returned to international action following the abolition of apartheid.

The 1995 World Cup remains the only version to have included the small European nation of Malta.

With a history of notable shocks and incredible performances, it would come as no surprise if the Liverpool 2019 competition has plenty of the same to offer.

Previous Podium Results

1963Eastbourne, EnglandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland(round robin)
1967Perth, AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaSouth Africa(round robin)
1971Kingston, JamaicaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland(round robin)
1975Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaEnglandNew Zealand(round robin)
1979Port of Spain, Trinidad & TobagoAustralia / New Zealand / Trinidad & TobagoN/AN/A(round robin)
1983SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandTrinidad and Tobago(round robin)
1987Glasgow, ScotlandNew ZealandTrinidad & Tobago, AustraliaN/A(round robin)
1991Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica53-52
1995Birmingham, EnglandAustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand68-48
1999Christchurch, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland42-41
2003Kingston, JamaicaNew ZealandAustraliaJamaica49-47
2007Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica42-38
2011SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandEngland58-57
2015Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland58-55
2019Liverpool, England????

Our Partners

Find out more about our partners that proudly support the Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 in Liverpool.